Composed by
Chris Hülsbeck and Fabian del Priore


Published by
Synsoniq Records (1997)


1) Intro
2) Mission Briefing
3) Second Theme
4) Convoy
5) The Mine
6) Heli Attack
7) First Mission
8) Rescue
9) Danger
10) Boss Attack
11) Mission Completed
12) Inka-City
13) Easy Ride
14) Alien-City
15) Final Stage
16) Credits
17) Extreme Assault (Operator Trance Mix)
18) Extreme Assault (Operator Message Mix)
19) Extreme Assault (Planet Trax Remix)


- Composer website: Chris Hülsbeck
- Composer website: Fabian del Priore
- Interview




Review by
Oliver Ittensohn

Extreme Assault

Extreme Assault hit the store shelves in 1997 and offered groundbreaking graphics along with fun and engaging gameplay. The game’s storyline involved an alien invasion and the player’s mission to save the earth. As cliché as the story sounds it wasn’t really important since the game’s focus lay on non-stop action: it was what the game was all about. The player would take command of either a tank or a chopper and engage the alien invaders in a series of levels, shoot everything in his path and leave behind an area of devastation; yet in the end, he had saved the world.

The score to this action mayhem was composed by Chris Hülsbeck and Fabian del Priore who did a very good job in underscoring the game. Heavily influenced by some of movie composer Hans Zimmer’s action titles they provided a fitting, fast-paced and thematically rich score which translates excellently to a soundtrack album. The main theme, first heard in “Intro” is fun and humable. It is quoted lots of times throughout the album in different variations and orchestrations along with a second theme (properly named “Second Theme”) that is equally exciting.

All the cues on the album are similar in structure and instrumentation: they are fast-paced, exciting, heroic and sometimes just pure fun. Among the highlights are “Convoy” with its dramatic opening, “The Mine” which starts slowly adding layers of percussion until the statement of the main theme and “Rescue” that features the theme in a striking pizzicato. Unfortunately, the score ends with three quite annoying techno-remixes.

The music was composed in 1997 which means that it’s a synthesized soundtrack in midi-quality. So don’t be shocked by a flat and high-pitched overall sound quality. This shouldn’t deter you from giving it a chance though, for the score really has its own charm. It’s an exciting and engaging listen that many video game music fans will surely and thoroughly enjoy.